Monday, February 4, 2013

Ryan Dungey Wins Round 5 Of 2013 Supercross At Anaheim III

People have been comparing this year's Supercross to the 2012 F1 season and its easy to see why: after five rounds there have been four different riders standing at the top spot of the podium. Back-to-back wins from Ryan Villopoto had us fearing the start of another RV whitewash Anheim III saw Ryan Dungey emerge as the winner.

Dungey had an appalling time in the qualifying heat races, but the main event looked like a walk in the park. Even with Justin Brayton picking up the Holeshot and Mike Alessi leading the first lap, Dungey had established a place out front by lap 2, made easier thanks to Alessi falling on a corner sortly after he was overtaken. It was a lead that he carried through to the checkered flag without much in the way of a threat from the riders behind him.

While Dungey will be pleased with his solid performance, Chad Reed seems to be continuing his run of back luck, thanks to another multi-rider accident on the third corner of the first lap that took both Brayton and Ryan Villopoto out of contention. Reed managed to salvage 16 points by the end of the race but Villopoto had to settle with an 8th place.

Fans of James Stewart finally had something to cheer about with his best performance of the championship so far, who was riding in 2nd place until lap 13 when he had to give up places to a determined Davi Millsaps (who keeps the red plate and now boasts a 14 point lead) and Justin Barcia who snatched a place back on the podium after a couple of races sat out thanks to accidents.

We're just under a third of the way through the 2013 championship and we still don't think anyone could confidently pick who will be champion. Roll on San Diego!

No comments: